XYplorer Integration

Discussion related to "Everything" 1.5 Alpha.
Post Reply
User59
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 3:43 pm

XYplorer Integration

Post by User59 »

The Windows 11 File Explorer is driving me crazy, so I'm trying out XYplorer, an Explorer alternative. Is there a way to get Everything 1.5a to open files and folders/paths in XYplorer, or other similar file manager, instead of Windows File Explorer?

Advice appreciated. Lance
void
Developer
Posts: 16680
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: XYplorer Integration

Post by void »

To open folders from Everything in XYplorer:
  • In Everything, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the Context Menu tab on the left.
  • Select Open (Folders)
  • Change the command to:

    $exec("C:\Program Files\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe" "%1")

  • Select Open Path
  • Change the command to:

    $exec("C:\Program Files\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe" "$parent(%1)")

  • Click OK.
Last edited by void on Mon Apr 29, 2024 1:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: $parent("%1") => "$parent(%1)"
User59
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 3:43 pm

Re: XYplorer Integration

Post by User59 »

Thanks for the prompt and helpful reply. I tried changing the command lines as suggested. I was getting error messages saying that Windows can't find the XYplorer folder or file. Then I realized that my XYplorer folder and exe file are in C:\Programs (x86) folder. So, for Open (Folders) I changed the code to this:

Code: Select all

$exec("C:\Program Files $(x86$)\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe" "%1")
That works nicely. Excellent! Half way home.

Then I changed the Open (Path) code to this:

Code: Select all

$exec("C:\Program Files $(x86$)\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe" $parent("%1"))
Yikes! That does not work. It simply opens the C:\Program Files (x86)\XYplorer folder.

Any suggestions for the Open (Path) command? Is there a typo or?
tuska
Posts: 1052
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:14 am

Re: XYplorer Integration

Post by tuska »

User59 wrote: Sun Apr 28, 2024 5:15 pm Any suggestions ...?
Open (Folders)

Code: Select all

$exec("C:\Program Files (x86)\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe" "%1")
Open Path

Code: Select all

$exec("C:\Program Files (x86)\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe" $parent("%1"))
User59
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 3:43 pm

Re: XYplorer Integration

Post by User59 »

Thanks, Tuska. But as I said, the code for Open (Folder) that I have does work, with the $( and $) for the parentheses in the path. My problem is the code for the Open (Path) option. On my machine, the code you offer leads only to this message:

https://postimg.cc/SYSZy7DM

As I read the hints for the Context Menu option in Everything, $( = (

So I remain stumped.
tuska
Posts: 1052
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:14 am

Re: XYplorer Integration

Post by tuska »

Hi,

This code works for "Open Path" (as stated by you):

Code: Select all

$exec("C:\Program Files $(x86$)\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe" $parent("%1"))
Double-click on an entry in the path column in Everything 1.5.0.1373a (x64) to open this path in XYplorer.

On my PC I have tested with a 30-Day Trial version of XYplorer:
Menu "Help" > "Various information > App: ... C:\Program Files (x86)\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe

(I am a Total Commander user).
void
Developer
Posts: 16680
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: XYplorer Integration

Post by void »

Please try the following command:

$exec("C:\Program Files $(x86$)\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe" "$parent(%1)")


The quotes need to be on the outside of $parent()
LNEL108

Re: XYplorer Integration

Post by LNEL108 »

Excellent! That works very nicely. Thank you so very much.

Lance (formerly, User59)
User59
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 3:43 pm

Re: XYplorer Integration

Post by User59 »

So, to sum up, here's what worked:

Open Folder:

Code: Select all

$exec("C:\Program Files $(x86$)\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe" "%1")
Open Path:

Code: Select all

$exec("C:\Program Files $(x86$)\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe" "$parent(%1)")
NotNull
Posts: 5458
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: XYplorer Integration

Post by NotNull »

User59 wrote: Sun May 05, 2024 12:59 am Open Path:
[...]
Alternative:

Open Path:

Code: Select all

$exec("C:\Program Files $(x86$)\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe" /select="%1")

From the XYplorer documentation:
/select
XYplorer will go to the parent path in the folder tree and select the item in the file list. For example, this will go to C:\ and select Windows in the list:
XYplorer.exe /select=C:\Windows
User59
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 3:43 pm

Re: XYplorer Integration

Post by User59 »

Yes, that works too. Nice!
Function
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 9:13 pm

Re: XYplorer Integration

Post by Function »

This was changing the current tab to the destination, which wasn't the intended behavior. I had to change the setting in XYplorer so that links passed to it would open in a new tab. Perhaps there's another way with a script (but I can't get this to work).

From https://www.xyplorer.com/xyfc/viewtopic ... 138#p80138

Code: Select all

Tools=>Configuration=>Startup & Exit=>enable "Open command line start path in new tab"
and maybe disable "Allow multiple instances"
NotNull
Posts: 5458
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: XYplorer Integration

Post by NotNull »

Just "installed" portable XYPlorer 26.60. the following seems to work here:
  • In Everything, go to Menu => Tools => Options => General => Context Menu
  • Select Open (Folders) from the Context menu items list
  • Set Command to:

    Code: Select all

    $exec("c:\path to\XYplorer.exe" /script="::tab$('new', '%1'$);")
    
  • Select Open Path from the Context menu items list
  • Set Command to:

    Code: Select all

    $exec("c:\path to\XYplorer.exe" /script="::tab$('new', '%1'$);")
    
  • Click the OK button
  • Done.

In dual pane mode, opening the folder in a new tab in the inactive pane is a different story. Its behaviour might be a bug.
Will ask on the XYplorer forum (in a couple of days).
Function
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 9:13 pm

Re: XYplorer Integration

Post by Function »

I am using one pane in XY and using these commands opens up two tabs. One is the correct one and the other is My Computer. Strange.
NotNull
Posts: 5458
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: XYplorer Integration

Post by NotNull »

Function wrote: Thu Nov 07, 2024 3:58 pm I am using one pane in XY and using these commands opens up two tabs. One is the correct one and the other is My Computer. Strange.
That is (what I think is) the bug I was talking about (which is more severe in dual pane mode).


(BTW: Once a 'This PC' tab is opened, the next time you run the command, XYplorer will not open a new 'This PC' tab.
Post Reply